Emotionally Healthy Spirituality

I recently finished Peter Scazzero’s book Emotionallu Healthy Spirituality!  This book has been on my list for a long time so I was glad to read it. With a background in counseling, I felt that the book did a great job at scratching the surface on some areas for people to examine. 

I appreciated that the book really reinforced the idea of looking back to see how our families of origin have impacted our behaviors. Scazzero gives lots of personal examples. I do believe that many people could read these and move on without doing some of the work. I saw the book as a nudge for people to go see a counselor to work through issues. I did see that he has a workbook and small group format. These would be great resources because the book itself is not a substitute for counseling. The book could have used some questions and directives for people to know what next steps to take to grow in maturity. 

I will say that the section on sabbath was particularly convicting and relevant for me. I felt the author did a great job explaining the importance of rest to our spiritual lives. This section really resonated with me. 

I would suggest this book to go alongside counseling or an engaged small group. This is a great launching point to stir up a desire for emotional health!

Disclosure: I received this book for free and am very thankful for the opportunity to read it. All opinions are my own!