Good Good Father

We are big fans of worship music and it is constantly playing in our house. My son could probably listen all day. 

We first listened to Good Good Father by Housefires (they’re a favorite around here). Though, when I heard Chris Tomlin had a version, I was excited that he would be able to get the song to a wider audience since I love the song!  Personally, I still prefer the original. The song really shows God’s heart as a loving father. 

Since the song became so popular, I wasn’t surprised to see they made a children’s book to go with it.  I was excited to receive the book for free to review since my son likes the song. 

The book is a fairly short board book that follows the story of a lion who is the “father.”  The storyline talks about the different things good fathers do. The illustrations are cute and simple. My son (2 and a half) has enjoyed reading it. I wouldn’t say it is a favorite book but he seems to like it. 

The biggest disappointment to me with the book was that it doesn’t talk about how God is our “good, good father.”  The connection between how the father lion acts and how God is was never made in the book. I was able to verbally share this concept at the end of the book but I would have preferred the book had focused on how God is our “good, good father.”

So, I would not recommend to go out of your way to find this book but if you like the song then it might be a fun addition to your kids’ bookshelf. 


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

