The Beginners Bible


While I do not remember having one of these myself as a child, I do remember them being around!  Since I work with kids, I wanted to see how this updated one compared to others out there. 

For starters, there are pictures on every page and the font size is larger as well. There are about 500 pages as well so this is a substantial sized book.  I really appreciate that many stories from the Bible are included. Some kids “bibles” cut out many of the lesser known ones like jars of oil or Elisha’s room. Though, there are still many missing but I do understand the need to maintain space limits too. The stories themselves read easily and are short enough for a younger audience. My two and a half year old will listen to them for a while.  

Personally, the pictures are not that appealing to me but they are not horrible either. They tend to be more cartoon like while staying realistic. The colors are bright as well. 

Some of the stories do add some creative liberty in the story telling while still mostly staying true to the original text. The format is not a literal translation and does not include bible verses like some other kids bibles. This is geared more toward telling the story in a kid friendly way to be read by kids or adults. 

I wouldn’t say that this is my absolute favorite kids bibles but I will add it to my collection to use and am glad for some of the different stories being in there!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Say and Pray Devotions


This is the second Say and Pray book we have gotten to review and I am happy to say that we like this one too!  My son has started having fun pointing out all of the things labeled.  The ideas are very simple and the prayers are short.  Many of the pages focus on daily life and about the things God created.  I like that there are Bible verses included with each devotion. The prayers are also only a sentence but they do a good job at giving examples of how to pray.  Though, they do all start with Thank you, God. They are not varied in that format so it can get a little repetitive. This is similar to the Say and Pray Bible. If you like that one, you will probably like this one too!

Also, this is a board book and has withstood some beating so far. I would say that it falls in the middle of not being the sturdiest but definitely not flimsy. 

All in all, I am glad to have another book to add to our collection and think that this will be a fun one down the road to help with learning to read. 
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”