It’s Not Fair

When you read a lot, it’s easy to get authors a little confused. Needless to say, Melanie Dale and Melanie Shankle are different authors!  Melanie Dale wrote about women being scary and Melanie Shankle wrote about some green sparkly earrings. Very different!  So, I got this book anticipating some earring type writing and instead found myself with Melanie Dale. 

This book felt even more personal than Women are Scary. Dale starts off by sharing about her family but does so in a way that leaves her children privacy as well. I absolutely appreciated this and yet was grateful that she did share details about some of the struggles. I felt like she did a good job at towing the line there. 

Throughout the book, sections are included from other women who have chosen to share parts of their stories. I enjoyed reading these and sometimes wanted more!  

The book itself is full of humor and light hearted inserts for oftentimes a heavy subject of dealing with the “not fun” parts of life. Some of the humor is just not my style and is a bit rough around the edges. Though, I know some people love this type. I preferred the sections where more of Dale’s story comes out as well as her own process for dealing with the unfair things in life. She did include some biblical stories as well to bring home ideas. 

In all, this seems like a great sit back, laugh (if this is your style of humor), move through the unfairness of life, and still love God book. If you’re dealing with some hard things, this book might be a great way to incorporate some humor into life. 
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Leave a Reply

