Uninvited

I was so excited to dive into this book and see what Lysa had to offer!  I intentionally read this book with a friend to help keep me accountable to dig into the material and apply it. I would say that this would be a great book for in person discussion. 

Lysa includes some personal stories as well as Biblical stories that center around her theme of feeling less than, left out, or lonely.  I love reading personal stories so these helped bring the material to practical, every day life for me. Though, I could have done without a few of the jokes/sarcasm about body image/weight. I don’t personally connect with that.  Though, these were infrequent enough that they didn’t stop me from reading. 

Beyond the stories, I loved how the book focused on living loved and bringing it all back to truth and God. There were practical steps as well as acknowledgment that some of it takes personal transformation. I found myself underlining and saying me too a lot when Lysa talked about the difference between knowing the truth and applying the truth. 

I’m so glad I got to read this book and have many ideas reinforced about how to handle my emotions and the enemy in these situations where I’m feeling rejected, left out, or plain lonely. Thanks for being authentic and writing a real, relatable book!  Now to move the information into application. ☺️

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

