Minecraft 


Working with kids has meant that I have heard a lot about Minecraft!  Kids love to create things and Minecraft gives them this opportunity along with a whole host of ways to connect with others and to learn while they create. Personally, I have watched some kids play the game but I haven’t played myself. I can’t say that I have much of a desire to play beyond wanting to be able to know more to be able to better connect with the kids who love the game. 

All of that long introduction to say that I was excited to see someone took advantage of what has become so popular among young kids!  I love the idea of helping make the Bible fun and easy to read for kids. The NIrV version is really similar to the NIV but with some word changes to help younger readers. 

This Bible includes 24 pages related to Minecraft. I like that the pages gave prompts for how to connect biblical stories to things that you can do in the game. I could see some kids finding that fun. I wish they had included some more ideas and unique connections. There really were not many pages in comparison to how many pages of the Bible there are. 

Also, I would have loved to see the Dictionary in the back be a little longer to help young readers. I could also see some commentary being helpful. 

This seems like a great Bible to get kids who are really into Minecraft also into the Bible but there is not a lot of Minecraft content so I imagine this would be best for a child who has parents to help encourage reading the Bible. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

