Rooted: The Hidden Places…

There were so many good books to choose from this last time that I had a really hard time narrowing it down to what one I wanted to read and review.  In the end, I went with the one that seemed to speak to my current season the most.  I recently finished reading Rooted: The Hidden Places Where God Develops You by Banning Liebscher.  I had heard of Banning through Jesus Culture and had heard some of his speaking, but not much so I was curious what he would have to say.

The book reinforces the idea that God wants to work on our character and “roots” in order for Him to keep expanding our vision as well as our areas of influence.  Banning was able to use personal experiences and stories to highlight many of these principles.  I absolutely appreciated his faithfulness to serving at Bethel Church for many, many years before moving forward with Jesus Culture Sacramento.  His actions and words exemplified the idea of being rooted in a local church and leaving well.  He shares that he left Bethel with the pastor’s blessing and encouragement.  I love that.  All of this helped increase his credibility for me.

Some other areas that were touched on throughout the book included staying in the race and not being distracted.  The book did a great job at pointing out areas where we can be distracted from what God is doing or even start to take on it ourselves.  He specifically shared about how with Jesus Culture as the popularity rose there felt like more pressure.  In response to that he wrote:

“We didn’t build this and we don’t need to feel any pressure to stay somewhere God brought us to in the first place.  We don’t need to keep open a door that He opened.  If God wants to shut the door, He can shut the door.  If He wants to keep it open, He can keep it open.  There is so much rest found in that place.”

Throughout the book, I spent a lot of time underlining and adding key points at the end of the chapter so that I can take those into daily life.  All in all, I am super glad that I got the opportunity to read an advanced reading copy for this book and would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is looking for encouragement as well as guidance in the ways that God might be working in your life as He is developing you toward your vision especially in those times that seem like waiting.

Disclaimer: All views of this book are my own, but I did receive a free Advanced Reading Copy from Blogging for Books.

Leave a Reply

