Leadership

I am constantly on the look out for ways to improve leadership and to learn more about leadership so I was excited to see Jenni Catron’s new book The 4 Dimensions of Extraordinary Leadership!  I knew about Jenni from some of her prominent roles in the church and from being known as a woman in leadership.  The book also drew me in because it said that it had a personal leadership assessment!  The cover is interesting and the book is just under 200 pages.

The leadership assessment was really fun to do and I found it helpful to know which of the 4 dimensions I tend to utilize the most.  The four dimensions that Jenni uses are heart, soul, mind, and strength.  The book is set-up to be read through by explaining the concept and then going through each dimension by itself.  The chapters about each dimension address how they can be a strength or a weakness.  Jenni also points out areas to watch for when a strength can be overused.  For example, she shares that she often leads from her mind, but that in times of stress she can become overly task oriented rather than adding in the other dimensions.

Within the book, I could easily tell that Jenni has read many books on leadership because she is constantly quoting and referring to them in her own.  This can be a great resource, but at times also detracted from hearing Jenni’s voice.  I loved hearing a lot of the personal examples and stories within leadership.  The book really did a great job at providing stories and real-life scenarios without simplifying things to a do this or do that type formula.

All in all, if you like reading about leadership, enjoy assessments, appreciate lots of references, and want to learn then this might be a good book for you!  I am glad I read the book and to have more insight into my personal leadership style based on this concept!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

