Grieving

I had seen mixed reviews about this book, but mostly positive so I thought I would give it a try since at times I have felt stuck in my own grieving process!  I was not drawn to the cover online, but in person the book actually looks really great and is a nice hardcover.  The idea of having space to journal is awesome, but I did not connect with many of the questions that went along with each devotion.  I did enjoy reading some of the personal stories that were included in the devotional.  The personal stories covered a variety of different scenarios too, which helped broaden the audience of the book.  The book really is intended to speak to a broad range of women.  Men may connect with parts of the book, but the book is geared toward women in my opinion.

Also, I liked the idea of having a table of contents to be able to pick certain sections for specific seasons.  The author did a great job at allowing the reader permission to use the book in whatever way was helpful.  I skipped around a bit trying to find chapters or journal exercises that I wanted to read or do.  Overall, I am glad I read the book even if I did not find it all that helpful nor did it resonate with me in this season.  Perhaps, I will find it helpful later. I am thankful that the author is tackling this subject and desiring to help women going through the grieving process!

_240_360_Book.1793.cover

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

