Prayer and Fasting

  
Eating his snacks while Ryan prayed 😊

This week begins a time of prayer and fasting at church. I’m so thankful to be part of a church that prioritizes this and really lives it out. Plus, I’m grateful for friends I can text who will pray and believe and even speak out truth to me when I’m struggling. They’re praying and fighting alongside me. 

 I am excited to keep showing Asher how to pray and that prayer is important. So instead of taking the easy route and staying home tonight, we went into church as a family. We split the time in half and took turns praying while the other hung out with Asher.  Asher had fun playing with cars and eating snacks. We had time to pray. A win-win. Even with a later bedtime. 😊

During my prayer time, I spent some time reading in Acts and this stood out:

‭‭Acts‬ ‭1:14‬ ‭AMP‬‬

“All of these with their minds in full agreement devoted themselves steadfastly to prayer, [waiting together]….”

They were steadfast in prayer. They agreed together and prayed together. And then there are these verses…

“If you then, evil as you are, know how to give good gifts [gifts that are to their advantage] to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask and continue to ask Him!”

‭‭Luke‬ ‭11:13‬ ‭AMP‬‬

“So I say to you, Ask and keep on asking and it shall be given you; seek and keep on seeking and you shall find; knock and keep on knocking and the door shall be opened to you. For everyone who asks and keeps on asking receives; and he who seeks and keeps on seeking finds; and to him who knocks and keeps on knocking, the door shall be opened.”

‭‭Luke‬ ‭11:9-10‬ ‭AMP‬‬

I highlighted both of these in my reading from this morning as a reminder for myself to keep asking and to not grow weary in asking. I would rather be the persistent widow who the judge granted what she wanted than be the one who gave up a day too early. Until God tells me to stop asking or He answers, I will keep on asking.  They did not get the walls of Jericho to fall in an hour.  Some things only happen with continued prayer. 

Leave a Reply

