5 Minutes with Jesus

I have been able to hear Sheila Walsh speak before and so I love when I can “hear” the words coming off the page.  Her new devotional lines right up with how she speaks.  She is easy to listen to and her words are easy to read!  She relates a lot of biblical principles to stories from her own life.  She focuses on finding our identity in Christ and on living that out with our actions.

This particular devotional is not setup with dates or even subjects.  There is no table of contents or structure to follow.  In some ways, this is refreshing compared to devotionals where you need to “keep up.”  Though, sometimes, I wanted a subject index in case I was looking for a word on a particular topic.  Each devotional, though, does have a format that is consistent throughout.  A title, a short personal story, a take-home main point and multiple verses.  I love that there are multiple verses rather than just one.  This really drives home the idea that the Word is important and gives the reader a chance to dig into a few different areas.

If you like reading devotionals (sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t!), this would be a fun addition to others that you have.  I would speculate that women would relate more to this than men especially given the girly cover design, yet many passages would be applicable for both men and women!

_225_350_Book.1673.cover

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

