Awesome Marriage

_225_350_Book.1651.cover

I love marriage. I love being married.  I love seeing marriages thrive.  There’s something so powerful about watching two people who love each other and love God.  I even “let” God talk me into studying counseling with an emphasis on marriage and family while I was still single.

Now, there are a lot of books out there that tout advice and suggestions to married people or are about getting ready for marriage.  Since that is an area that I’m interested in continuing to learn about I thought I’d snag this book by Kim Kimberling to review.

I was thrilled that the author was easy to read and I did not feel like I was slugging my way through the reading.  There were a lot of marriage stories and stories about couples who went to counseling.  He didn’t shy away from sharing the stories that ended in divorce or where the couple didn’t change.  I felt like he provided some real perspective on the fact that happily ever after really does take a lot of hard work and perseverance.  These stories are scattered throughout each chapter.  He breaks up the chapters into what he calls the 7 Secrets.  Each secret can stand alone and also builds on the others.

I loved that he started out with recognizing the areas that hold us back and the patterns that we are repeating unsuccessfully.  Oftentimes, I find that I have habits or behaviors that I keep doing expecting different results.  Or I just want the other person to change.  This chapter touches on these areas and also highlights the benefits of counseling.

Now this is totally a book that centers on God and God’s involvement in the marriage relationship, which I personally think is a bedrock for a thriving marriage.  The second chapter really drives this point home.

Some of the other chapters focused on giving a couple tools for their marriage specifically in terms of how to connect, listen, being present, balancing time, and fighting.  There is a mix of practical things which were helpful, but likely could have been expanded on a bit more.  Personally, I felt the chapter on sex was not all that helpful and have found other books to better dive into that.  So, I wouldn’t recommend the book if that is the area that you are looking for help.

Overall, I liked the stories in the book best!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

