Life Is…

I saw a lot of buzz on social media about Judah Smith’s book so I was excited to jump into it when it arrived to review.  I haven’t read his previous book so that might have helped, but the book still made sense as a stand alone.  He did a great job at adding humor, personal stories, and good points into the different chapter.  The book is divided into four sections talking about how Life is… to be loved and to love, to trust God in every moment, to be at peace with God and yourself, and to enjoy God.  Some of the book felt like many other Christian non-fiction books that I have read, but I was thankful for a few new insights.  My favorite parts were the chapters talking about God’s illogical love for us and about how life is to enjoy God.  The biblical stories connected with these themes really brought a fresh revelation and reminder about how rules and regulations don’t work.  We can want to put God into a nice little box of blessing us and loving us when we meet His expectations, but God shows us a different way.   For me, this is always good to hear again since I can tend to want to make lists or rules or make “sense” out of the things that happen or what is happening.  Instead, when I am focusing on enjoying and loving God while also resting in knowing that He loves me, that is when I am most content and walking out His plans.  I feel like this would be a great book for someone who has not read too many Christian non-fiction books and who likes personal stories mixed with biblical stories along with a light-hearted feel.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

