Scary Close

I’ve been having a theme of reading books about vulnerability, intimacy, community, and relationships this year so Donald Miller’s new book fit right on my list!  I’ve enjoyed the other things I’ve read by him and was excited to see this one come up as a choice to review.  I found myself underlining like crazy, laughing, nodding my head, and connecting with much of what was written.  I felt drawn into the story of Don and Betsy from the start and enjoyed following along with them throughout the book.  I loved the way their love story was threaded throughout in a meaningful way.  Don also shares about his experience at Onsite and with working with counselors, trusted friends, and in learning new ways to form healthy relationships.  He was authentic and honest in these without being soap boxy.  Basically, I loved that he was vulnerable enough to share about areas he struggled and what he did to get help.  He even shares about his list of new freedoms including “I am willing to contradict something I’ve said before.  I’m willing to sound dumb.  I’m willing to be passionate about something that isn’t perceived as cool.  I’m perfectly willing to be perfectly human.”  I personally was challenged by his own journey of dropping the act and being himself.  There’s something powerful about belonging and acceptance without fear of judgment.  Even after I turned the last page of this book, I left thinking that I need to go back over what I had underlined and continue to keep doing my own work of dropping my “act.”  Thanks for the awesome book, Don (and Betsy).

Have you read anything great lately?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

