Make It Happen

I’ve been on a reading kick lately and I am loving it…so here’s another one that I just finished!

I was a little nervous about reading Lara Casey’s Make It Happen because I didn’t quite even know what I wanted to “make happen” or what “it” was for me.  There was a good chunk of the book that touched on Lara’s story and her own insights that she has learned along the way.  I love reading about how people have gotten to where they are, what they struggle with, how God has intervened, and this book was no different.  I found myself looking forward to reading these parts and really connecting at times with things Lara went through in life.  This would have been a fantastic book for me to read in my late teens or early twenties.  I think I would have really resonated with Lara then!  I still resonated with her, but have been encouraged to find myself in a different spot and to see the growth in both myself and Lara!

The book is meant to be interactive so I would definitely suggest doing this with a small group and to really dig out a notebook and get ready to sit and write.  There were many parts that I have bookmarked to go back over and spend more time sitting with and praying over again.  One part that I really loved too was where she mentioned that she has a mission statement for her social media use–that seems totally beneficial and helpful to me in this time where it can be easy to use social media in ways that are time wasters rather than using them to positively make a difference.  The book was a good mix of providing direction while not being a “how to” or even implying that there could be a one size fits all formula.  So, even though I didn’t end the book with a big lightbulb moment about what my “it” is I appreciated that Lara even explored the concept of not rushing into finding it and that it may look very different than our first thoughts.  She challenged my ideas on wanting something “big” to go and do and make happen.  I’m excited to continue to sift through the workbook portions of this book and see what God reveals as I do the activities.  All in all, a great book and wish I had read it a few years earlier! 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

3 thoughts on “Make It Happen

  1. Thanks for sharing! I’m going to add it to my summer reading list… right now most of my reading time is consumed with school related material.

Leave a Reply

