Same Kind of Different as Me

I decided I wanted to be a little more intentional about reading different types of genres this year so when I saw Same Kind of Different as Me pop up to review, I jumped on board and I am glad I did.

The book chronicles the interwoven stories of Ron Hall and Denver Moore. They both take turns writing and sharing in the book, which I enjoyed getting to have multiple perspectives. Plus, this is a true story which makes it fun to read!

I loved getting a peak into history as Denver told his part about growing up on a plantation after slavery had ended but injustices still reigned. This highlighted much of the realities of life during that time. Denver also showed us a glimpse into homelessness. The real, raw realities of being homeless and what life is like.

In contrast, Ron Hall shared about his own prejudices toward the homeless and about his changing views as he began to interact with people at the Union Gospel Mission. His wife also plays an important part in the book and in encouraging the two men’s friendship. Personally, I would have loved to read more about her.

Overall, I felt like this was a quick, interesting, and fast paced novel. Some parts prompted me to look at my own perceptions while others challenged me to look at how I respond. I like books that do that. These topics are important and worthwhile to consider. I would recommend this if you like historical memoirs that read like a story with an emphasis on race/class distinctions and faith. Faith is a central part of this book and the authors did not shy away from sharing how they have wrestled and questioned.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/04d/2335483/files/2015/01/img_1533.jpg

What have you been reading?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

