5 Minute Friday: New

Pour out your heart, let your fingers paint a picture, and leave the editing behind.  Fridays mean we get to play without pretense and soak up the free-flowing, raw elements of life that come without red bows.

The prompt…..

New

I scribble notes on a paper and add dates into my planner.  I realize I might need a new planner to add all the details of this new season.  Life ebbs and flows with hello’s and good-bye’s.  Seasons constantly remind me of the ever changing pathway of life.  The adjustment and transition oftentimes chokes out the safety, but therein lies the greatest opportunity for growth.  I find embarking on a new season that got tumbled into my lap by God.  The blessings consist of ones that I probably would have passed by on a normal day, but here I am with hands raised high in praise.  I hope that I learned a few lessons throughout this last season to carry with me into all of these areas of waiting.  If nothing else, change is constant.  While the waiting and the drudgery may seem to never end, they will.  Take heart, waters and streams come rushing down the mountain to fill you to overflowing.  God makes a way.  He will do it.

The time always seems to slip away before I’ve fully formulated my thoughts…but so much seems new lately.  I’m liking it.  This girl who loves adventure and challenges soaks up these seasons with movement.  Alas, no editing or adding today…another day. For now, it’s your turn. What pours out of your heart when it comes to new?

18 thoughts on “5 Minute Friday: New

  1. God is so amazing that way, isn’t he? Things just come our way, as he sends them, praying you embrace your new season and grow deeper in Christ as you take the journey! God is always faithful to give us exactly what we need. 😉

    • So true–as He sends them, they’re just there! Thanks for the prayers and reminder that He really does give us exactly what we need, when we need it.

  2. I love, “The adjustment and transition oftentimes chokes out the safety, but therein lies the greatest opportunity for growth. I find embarking on a new season that got tumbled into my lap by God.”

    This is what bold prayers produce – less safety, but more growth. And isn’t that what we’re really here to do?

    Thank you for sharing! Have a great weekend!!

    • God definitely isn’t “safe” but He is good. I love that line from Narnia. And it’s so true He’s more concerned about us becoming more like Him than He is about us being safe.

  3. Totally agree, with you – time does slip away, change is constant, and sometimes the blessings aren’t what we would chose – but the waiting it too slips away, and we take from it what He needs us to, as we prepare to walk into the new chapters of our life story. Even the blessings that we wouldn’t normally chose, the one’s that maybe aren’t quite what we want, yet, they took bring fresh perspective, even if we have to dig a little to find it. Have a great weekend Katy. Nics

    • Exactly. So thankful that you get it too. The blessings aren’t always what we’d choose and the path definitely doesn’t always look like where we wanted to go or where we thought we were going, but the perspective and the work it takes to dig deep is so necessary. And this life is a fleeting breath.

  4. Hi there! I’m catching up on Five Minute Friday and so glad to see you joined in too this week! Fabulous post full of fresh contemplations and gorgeous words. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Happy Weekend!

  5. “Take heart, waters and streams come rushing down the mountain to fill you to overflowing. God makes a way. He will do it.” – I so needed this, Katy. Thank you, thank you. Your words remind me that He is good, and He is faithful.

Leave a Reply

