beauty

I like to play along on Fridays by writing out my heart in 5 minutes. Editing thrown out the window and a whole lot of streaming consciousness type writing.  More often than not, I like it and am surprised at where my pretty little heart takes me and gives me some food for thought to chat over with God about later….sooooooo, here goes.

5 minutes on Beauty.

I chase her down but elusive she stays just out of reach.  I find myself thinking that maybe just maybe if I eat less or if I happen to stumble upon a fabulous hair day or I throw on that pretty new outfit…maybe she’ll show up and I can hold her for longer than brief seconds.  Maybe he’ll turn his head and notice me.  But, really. I don’t know if it’s so much beauty that I desire, but the confidence of a woman whose position is strong and secure.  One who rejoices over the future and walks with strength and dignity.  I plaster that verse to my mirror in hopes to remind myself that the kind of beauty I want stems from a foundation secure in Him first and foremost.  When I am drawn away into distraction, I find myself teary eyed over all that I am not.  I ramble on in my head about how I am not skinny enough like her or tall enough or how when I lose weight I lose it where I don’t want or how I’m just never going to be that ridiculously outgoing jump up and down kind of girl….and that’s when it’s not beautiful.   To be beautiful requires exhaling into all of who He made me to be.  Walking with Him…confident, secure, grounded, solid…..beautiful.

*p.s. the verse reference is proverbs 31:25

Your turn! What comes out of your heart when you write about beauty? 

27 thoughts on “beauty

  1. Aww, I think yu’re pretty. My letter after n key is nt wrking.) I realize it’s hard. What’s imprtant is the inside. Gd made yu the way yu are!
    Nice t see yu again in 5 minute friday. 🙂

    • i used to have a letter that didn’t work on my old laptop! so frustrating! hope it starts working soon. and you’re right god made us the way we are for a reason and it’s beautiful =)

    • sometimes i want to be here or feel like i “should” be but thank goodness there are different parts of the body and they all are beautiful together.

  2. I have chased that girl too. I am only now, at almost 33 years old, learning to stop chasing and just settle, just accept and rejoice over who he has made me to be- what a long journey it has been to peel the scales off of eyes to see that HE is who defines me, Him who is beauty. This was so lovely.

    • mmm, accept and rejoice and trust that He made us beautiful and made us for a reason. so hard to stop chasing while still remembering that we are not to just throw it all out the window—we are called to take care of ourselves. ah balance. =)

  3. I love reading your blog! Your transparency is so honest that we can all relate to it – and learn from it. I want to be that woman, too! Some days I feel “there”, but it is a constant pull.

    Thank you!!

    • aw thank you. i truly appreciate your comment and am so glad that it comes across that way! and yes…it is a constant pull—just all the more reason to draw near to God.

  4. Pingback: Beautiful | ...For Such A Time As This...

Leave a Reply

