Oh hey there Friday: 5 Minutes on…Backwards

Ready for this? I’ve been waiting for Friday with bated breath…and I sure am happy it’s here!  Hope you are too and I’d love to read what you come up with for this prompt (it was a hard one for me!)

Backwards:

“Therefore as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.” Colossians 3:12

I love reading and I love reading books with people so Kelly Minter’s “The Fitting Room” happening over at the Bloom Book Club through (in)courage fit right into my summer plans.

The verse the book focuses around is that lovely one above…but see, the thing I’m realizing about a lot of things is that I get it backwards.  I start out with the list of “do’s” rather than the “be” and the this is who you are.

Lately, that’s been my heart…to BE. to BE comfortable in my own skin. to BE comfortable with my story. to BE myself. to BE who God called and made me to BE.

Back to the verse…even in Bible college, I heard over and over whenever you see a “therefore” pay attention!  Get the order right.  Go first and see what’s behind and then look at the verse.

As a daughter of the King, I GET to wear these clothes.  I am not a daughter because I wear the clothes and I sure can’t manufacture the clothes myself.  Nope.  They come with who I am not what I do.

Such a leap from my head to my heart.  To get those truths deep within my heart rather than just up in my head.

26 thoughts on “Oh hey there Friday: 5 Minutes on…Backwards

  1. Love the image your post created in my head. One of my favorite verses especially when I am not digging the clothes in my closet. Thanks for sharing. With Joy, Carey

  2. Oh, this post is fantastic. Yes, I do this, too: “I start out with the list of “do’s” rather than the “be” and the this is who you are.”

    And I’ve heard this before, too: “I heard over and over whenever you see a “therefore” pay attention! Get the order right. Go first and see what’s behind and then look at the verse.” What a great example for this prompt!

    And this… this is so, so powerful: “As a daughter of the King, I GET to wear these clothes. I am not a daughter because I wear the clothes and I sure can’t manufacture the clothes myself.” Thank you for all of this post!

  3. So true. I also get distracted with the “doing” instead of the “being”. This was such a great reminder hat it’s a blessing. A gift, not anything that we DO to make it all so…

    Bless you!

  4. Oh, yes. How this resonates with us: the “doing” as opposed to the “being”. Guilty. Ow.
    Just as you wrote:
    “Such a leap from my head to my heart. To get those truths deep within my heart rather than just up in my head.”
    It is one thing to “know” this intellectually. It is quite another to have that knowing, to have it securely anchored in your heart.
    I am so glad you wrote this today, as it speaks to where I am, and one of the reasons that I am also reading Kelly’s book. It was the first thought that came to me today when I saw the prompt, but as happens sometimes when I sit to write, something very different flowed from my pen…

    • exactly…i “know” a lot of things and a lot of words…but if it’s not in my heart it’s not worth much.
      excited to see what direction you took it!

  5. LOVED this. Just loved every bit of direction. I do get it backwards. I spend so much time on the “do” and never enough on the “be.” Thank you for your beautiful 5 minute reminder! Blessings to you today!

    • totally is…though sometimes it’s like if that’s what it’s about then why is it so easy to DO rather than BE. hmph. =) hope you’re having a lovely start to the weekend!

    • exactly! we get to, we’re privileged to, they’re set aside just for us, made perfectly, waiting for us to accept who we are so we can slip into them. and the beloved chapter in the book after this one is SO good. because once we get that we are beloved…then it all flows from there!

  6. God has definitely been speaking to me about abiding in Him as a state of being rather than a task to cross off my list. Loved your heart here, Katy! 🙂

  7. Find out what the “therefore” is there for! Ah yes! so important. 🙂

    I’m reading with the book club, too, and so enjoying the great reminders Kelly has written.

    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

