Every Day…in 5 minutes

Every day lately I fight.  I get up in the morning fighting off the residual feelings left over from the night before.  There’s something about the time before bed that makes my head race and my heart ache.  I fill my bed with things hoping to feel just a little tucked in and safe.  The tears seem to become my friend lately and I still fight them.  I fight the battle between letting myself feel and grieve and “not going there.”

Every day I catch glimpses of love.  Written across the sky in a sunset or in the way I hear laughter or watch children playing or soak up the moments.  I see it. I do and it makes the fight a little easier.  The exhale comes a little sooner.

Every day I wrestle with questions in my head and want to know Him better.  To replace the lies with truth.  I want to see Him clearly for who He is and not let what I’ve experienced get in the way.

STOP

5 minutes. Writing. Exhaling my every day.  There’s so much more I could say…I could try to put some prettier red bows to make myself more comfortable with my every day, but there’s that rule about not editing….so, there’s a glimpse. a part of the full truth.

your turn. tell me about your every day.

 

28 thoughts on “Every Day…in 5 minutes

  1. I pray that you will find those moments of love written over every moment of your day today. And that God will surround you with the comfort of His spirit. I always appreciate your five minutes, and how you share your heart. I’ll be thinking of you.

  2. Hi there! I’m visiting from The Gypsy Mama and I absolutely love this. Your heart is pure. Big hugs to you. Five Minute Friday is so challenging to me, but I love doing it. Sounds like you do too. Keep pushing yourself! xo.

  3. Oh, I truly understand how those moments before bed seem to be so desperately filled with anxiety. I have learned over the years how and what helps me to push through them, and mostly how not to fight them, even when that means I don’t sleep until the wee s’mas of the morning. I will pray for you and ask Jesus to bring you to mind.

    Hugs…BIG Hugs…from afar!

    • BIG hugs back to you!!
      and i’m learning…this whole acknowledging and waking up to a big array of emotions tends to leave me a bit more raw than usual but at least i sleep at some point!

  4. don’t know all your circumstances, but just read this this morning. maybe it helps with hanging on to the truth. . .
    “from the end of the earth i call to you, when my heart is faint. lead me to the rock that is higher than i; for YOU are my refuge, a strong tower against the enemy. let me abide in your tent forever, find refuge under the shelter of your wings.” psalm 61: 2-4
    praying for you this morning.

    • ohhhhh i have that pinned to my bathroom mirror. a friend sent it to me and made it all pretty.
      thank you. thank you for the prayers and the reminder.

  5. Thank you for sharing your heart, even without the red bows and fluff, these true words are precious, and I will be praying that you are covered with God’s peace and hope as you go. Bless you, thank you for sharing this.

  6. Awesome. One of the many wonders I have read in the Word that helps me through each day is to know that my name is wrtten in the palm of God’s hand. each time I think of this, my heart swells. May the Lord five you His peace and understanding as you go through your day. You will be in my thoughts and prayers.

    • oh i do love that one!! my go to is the one in Isaiah 62:4 where He renames them from forsaken and desolate to married and Hephzibah (My delight is in her).
      thank you for the prayers, dear!!

  7. Love this one today. You said it so well. I think many of us have the same feelings about everyday. I hope you keep remembering His love and seeing His blessings in your life.

    • i’m looking and throwing up reminders because i know they’re there…sometimes just harder to see!
      hope you’re seeing them covering your life as well =)

Leave a Reply

