The Hard Love…

Five Minute Fridays

Go:

I’m curled up in my papasan chair nestled in with a space heater at my feet and my bible propped open to Isaiah.  Covered in blankets and clutching a fluffy pink pillow, I soak up the words.  Amidst the pages with scribbles and notes, I see the hard love.  My Papa. My Lord. My Savior. Speaking words over me to remind me once again (as if I didn’t carry it around in my back pocket already) that His ways are not my ways.  The verses remind me that He really does love me fiercely.  Fiercely enough to break me.  To strip me of the things that need to go.  To rip out the roots that bear no fruit.  To teach me to wait and mostly to trust Him in the waiting.  The tears still fall at the loss mingled with longing yet nestled alongside the tears a glint of hope resides.  The hope that causes my breath to catch as I taste how it feels to add “yet” to my “I’m not ____…yet.”

Stop.

Isaiah 19:22 He will strike and heal it.

Isaiah 25:8-9 And the Lord God will wipe away tears from all faces….and it will be said in that day: Behold, this is our God; We have waited for Him…

Isaiah 26:3 You will keep [her] in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You because [she] trusts in You.

Isaiah 30:18 Therefore the Lord will wait, that He may be gracious to you.

Your turn: Share with me 5 or 2 or 1 or however many minutes or seconds you have on hard love or hope or tears or whatever your heart is settling into…

8 thoughts on “The Hard Love…

  1. Not that it is a fun process but I love the imagery of ripping out the roots that bear no fruit! Once we are thru the pain the growth is more rapid and fruitful, right? 🙂 With Joy, Carey

  2. My One Word for 2011 is sacrifice…however, God gave me a word that must pair with it…abide. We can sacrifice all, if we are confident that we abide with Him. You perfectly articulated much of what I’m dealing with this year. Praying for you in your waiting and searching, Katy! 🙂

    • mmmm, love that you see how abide goes with sacrifice. maybe wait and hope are my two words that go with mine (trust). and how true that we can do things and be confident in them when we are close to Him and are sure about who He is. praying for you as you abide and step out in sacrifice that He would show up in big ways!

Leave a Reply

