rest…and enjoy…and meditate

I don’t do rest well. StrengthsFinder told me that I’m an achiever and goodness me that’s what I do. I set goals, make lists, plans, and then I follow through and check them off.  Part of me really struggles to relate when I hear that people have a hard time following through on things.  Now of course I don’t cross everything off my list and um I have difficultly prioritizing tasks rather than just doing them as they come in…cue a need for focus!  Now back to rest…

Last week my intentionality was to “rest and enjoy.”  I had a few days off because of conferences and I wanted to truly take time to rest as well as just enjoy life and enjoy God.  I quickly realized that I struggle knowing what this even looks like for me…

The enjoy part I got down. Running, biking, spin class, organizing my room, bathroom, car, & clothes.  Baking. Reading. and on and on. Yep. Got that part down.  I can spend time enjoying God by doing the things I love with Him.

Rest…I still don’t know. There’s more to it than sleeping because typically I don’t need more sleep. I want to be refreshed, which in part I experience and know about that refreshing that comes after being in my element, but I think there’s more…

I think…perhaps, meditation may teach me a bit about resting in the presence of the Lord. Being silent. Waiting on Him. Which is good because that’s my intentionality this week…and well beyond but starting this week of a new a habit.

Sure, it means early mornings (dear me…i thought 5:30 am was early but to maintain my morning schedule here goes 4:45 to start getting toward that lovely 47 minute minimum….cue awesome sermon on biblical meditation) but here goes…

Oh and here’s my lovely scripture I’m meditating on for today…a bit longer than the first three days but that’s okay and gotta love God and His humor and the way He connects things together for me.

“Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and feed on His faithfulness. Delight yourself also in the Lord and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him and He shall bring it to pass. He shall bring forth your righteousness as light and your justice as the noonday.  Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him.” Psalm 37:3-7
FaithBarista_Rest2JamBadge

 

 

What do you think about rest? What does rest look like for you? Any tips or help for this achiever!?