walking it out. #BibleIn90Days

I’ve been reading through the Bible in 90 days and I’m lovin’ it! I’ve trudged through some days and even gotten a bit behind (I’m a check it off the list girl so this was not okay in my book! but God is gentle).  Mostly, though, I love how I look forward to digging in and how many days I’ll stop reading wanting MORE. Who knew that after reading 17 chapters you’d want more? Not I!  After seeing Miss Stacey (who is lovely enough to have suggested and do this with me) reflect on the first month…I settled in to write about my own thoughts after I read through my 16 pages of notes (haibo!) so without further ado…

My biggest takeaway from the first month of reading the bible in 90 days:

Walk it out with God.

Day in and day out I need to be habitually walking with Him. If I want more of Him in my life, I need to seek Him and draw close. I can pour out my heart to Him like Hannah did and He hears me. He holds me. He walks with me and instructs me. He tells me what to do, when to do it, and how to do it.  I need to listen and obey. I need to walk it out with reverent fear of the Lord coupled with intimate face to face relationship. He teaches me patience like Jacob had when working for Rachel and that joy comes with great sacrifices. He reminds me to hold out for a man like Hezekiah who “trusted in, leaned on, and was confident in the Lord…for he clung and held fast to the Lord and ceased not to follow Him.” A mighty man of valor. He’s revealing me to me. Showing me what is in my heart that is from Him.  And He reminds me over and over to: “Be strong and courageous. Fear not, my daughter. Remember all that I have done. Bring it to your mind. I will provide all that is needed and even more in the time that it is needed.”

–So what have you been reading that’s sticking in your heart? And if you’re doing the Bible in 90 or Bible in 93 or Bible in a Year or whatever plan…what do you see as you reflect back?

10 thoughts on “walking it out. #BibleIn90Days

  1. Love to see what you’re learning! And you’re so right! I’m learning how important it is to walk it OUT with my Father. To get to know Him as He knows me. I love that we picked out different things from the EXACT same readings! I love that God can hold both of us in this and teach both of us…that He can meet both of us separately where we are in our lives. Can’t wait to see what the next two months bring!

    • I know! I love how God meets us right where we’re at. Reading through your list, I was like yeah yeah that’s good and I see that now that you point it out 🙂

  2. I’m reading Isaiah right now. I’m in the 50’s and am thinking of the promises there and how many of the readers of this book never got to see the fulfillment of those promises. It makes me wonder what a future promises means to us today.

    • oooo I love Isaiah! that is tricky with the promises…I thought about that when I was reading about the time in the wilderness and how the promises span so far and how often we don’t actually get to see them to the full. Now, I’m excited for when I get to Isaiah to see if I see that too 🙂

  3. I felt challenged by God to read through the Word out loud to myself and have been so blessed! The more i spend time in God’s presence and His Word, the more i want to… i love that i wake up and my first thoughts are of God and being with Him 🙂 I’m loving what is revealed of God – His heart, His thoughts, His attitude, His ways, His purposes – and this is deepening my desire to know Him deeper and reflect Him more fully.

  4. I recommend it!! I started mid June and am just finishing Jeremiah so it’s going to be more like 5 months for me! All good!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

