joy in a picture

i’m a words girl

but some things are better said

with a picture.

so in the midst of worship

god slipped a little one into my heart.

i saw myself pushing and straining against a heavy

metal, old fashioned plow

making the soil rich, ready to be full of life

planting seeds along the way and letting the

roots

take hold and go deep

but in that…i wanted to look back, but Jesus kept saying,

your sin is as far as the east is from the west. leave it there. press on.

don’t dwell on your detours, bumps, or rocks along the way.

look at me, behold my face.

look only at Me.

 

“Jesus said to him, No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back [to the things behind] is fit for the kingdom of God.” Luke 9:62

“But this I recall and therefore I have hope and expectation: it is because of the Lord’s mercy and loving-kindness that we are not consumed, because His [tender] compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great and abundant is Your stability and faithfulness. The Lord is my portion or share, says my living being (my inner self); therefore will I hope in Him and wait expectantly for Him. The Lord is good to those who wait hopefully and expectantly for Him, to those who seek Him [inquire of and for Him and require Him by right of necessity and on the authority of God’s word].” Lamentations 3:21-25

8 thoughts on “joy in a picture

  1. I love that our sin is forgiven. That we don’t have to lug it along with us. So many times we try to. I wonder why we do that. Don’t we realize we don’t have to?

    • agreed! i wonder why i do that often…I find myself lugging around all this stuff that is just weighing me down. so thankful that He reminds me to lay it down and leave it in the past and to press on…
      I think I often don’t realize that I can leave it there because I need to renew my mind and stop listening to those lies that I need to wear that guilt and almost serve out punishment rather than accepting grace and love. i’m sure there’s more in there to unpack, but here goes to getting rid of more roots and pruning!

      what do you think? do you see it working out in your life?

    • exactly. that’s what i want to do…just “lay back against You and breathe, feel your heart beat, this love is so deep, it’s more than i can stand, i melt in your peace, it’s overwhelming.” (the more I seek You by kari jobe)

Leave a Reply

