the disciple jesus loved

I’m on my 9th time reading through John. Remember that little challenge? Well, I’m still chipping away at it slowly and steadily.

Yesterday, I took some time to soak up the sun and read a bit more in another book that I am absolutely loving: Abba’s Child by Brennan Manning. Fabulous read and has my mind going so many directions! But, that’s for another day…for today, these lines stuck out:

“What a world of difference lies between knowing about someone and knowing Him! …In a flash of intuitive understanding, John experiences Jesus as the human face of the God who is love. And in coming to know who the Great Rabbi is, John discovers who he is–the disciple Jesus loved.”

Now back up to those other 8 times reading through this book and the times before this challenge.  Whenever I read about how John referred to himself as “the disciple Jesus loved” well….yeah, I thought that was a bit…odd…maybe just a tad arrogant.

Except, now I get it! Of course, he would call himself that! Because that’s the core of who he really is, how he sees himself, and the defining factor in his life.  Stripped away are the other questions like what do you do, what’s your name, who is your family, what do you want to do. No, no, no. all of it boils down to…Jesus loving him.  Now, that turns my heart because I sure don’t want to just know all the words, so I press on to know Jesus and I choose that I am known as “Hephzibah“…the one Jesus delights in. Now, that. changes my perspective. no longer arrogant…but godly.

How did/do you see the words “the disciple Jesus loved”?

7 thoughts on “the disciple jesus loved

    • nice! i like the idea of putting your actual name in there…i always forget that i could do that…maybe because i don’t often think of myself as “katy” but just as me…ha 🙂

  1. I’m working steadily through my Luke turned John challenge. How john knows he’s loved gets me every time. To know and have confidence in that…. I crave that knowing.

    • glad i’m not the only one still working through it! i crave that so confident knowing too….praying for that in both of our lives!

  2. That reminds me of Shane Claiborn’s The Irresistable Revolution. When people asked him what his job was, he’d say “lover.” As in, a lover of God and the beloved of God.

Leave a Reply

