Talent

“If your career path doesn’t seems to match your heart’s longing, it may be you have a skill that doesn’t match your passion.  You were good at something, so it seemed obvious that is what you should do.” p.60

Throughout my life, I assumed that whatever I performed well equated to something that I should do.  Furthermore, if I did not do something well then I needed to spend extra time on that in order to get better.  For example, I can write e-mails no problem.  I can do math no problem.  But, do they give me energy? Do they engage my passions? Am I fueled and fulfilled by these activities? Usually, not.  I’m in the process of redefining my definition of “what I should do.”

“–what are you to embrace? This is a question of passion and compassion.” p. 27

“When you don’t know what’s really important, you treat everything the same.” p. 78

What are my non-negotiables? Am I making decisions based on these?

“If you want to reinvent yourself, you have to know who are you and who you long to be and not violate that on the journey.” p. 82

“When you live a life of love, you are not bound to who are you but to who you will become.” 85

I am on a journey moving away from who I used to be and straining toward who I want to become.

“If you don’t lock into the life God has called you to live, you will find yourself pulled and torn by everyone else’s desire and expectation for your life.” 137

“If you haven’t defined who you are at the core, you will find yourself making choices that lead you down a path you would never have chosen if you could have thought more clearly.” p. 145

Leave a Reply

